Today I am honoured to feature a blog post by Angela Brown, author of the new release Neverlove. Angela was born and raised in Little Rock, AR, Angela now calls Central Texas home. AngelaReading and writing have been her lifelong passions. It was around the time she gave birth to her forever-love, nicknamed Chipmunk, that she really took writing seriously. After all, how could she teach her child to follow her dreams if she hadn’t tried herself? As a YA fantasy/sci-fi reader and author, she favors the magical, mysterious, the darker side of life…even harbors a secret fright for things that go bump in the night. Neverlove is a special project spawned from a blog-challenge-turned-blog-opera, the Abby and Basil affair. It is the first in the Shadow Jumpers series.

And without further ado, I give you Angela’s

What to Expect When You’re NOT Expecting

I expected to one day launch into my writing career.

Only… I had no idea how it would happen.

So I did what any aspiring author would do. I promptly freaked the heck out because it seemed that others had their game together and there I was, floundering like a beached whale after a fickle stutter-step-screeching-halt attempt with a previous project.

Would I self-publish again?

Would I get an agent and find one of my projects at one of the Big 6-soon-to-be-Big 5?

Would acceptance at a smaller press be better for me?

I could have pondered these things until kingdom come, but a good writer bud gave me a gentle nudge. Back into the water I went, a bundle of nervous flubber and blubber. My friend recommended blogging to get my fins out to people, a chance to network with other JoustingAngelawriters, learn a few things. I resisted at first, again, unaware of what to expect. Didn’t think I’d have anything to say or that anyone would bother to stop and read. The last thing I expected was to have over 300 followers a year and a half later (THANK YOU!), an online jousting championship under my belt, a special Partners in ParanormYA gig with a great writer (Hugs, Gwen Gardner!) and Neverlove, the novel I didn’t know I would write…that I now love.Angela Partners

In Neverlove, Abigail and Basil grew up in different homes with one thing in common. Love was not an expected thing. Hoped for, maybe…but not expected. Yet, when life took its twists and turns, they found the unexpected in each other. Their struggle arose in keeping such a rare gem amid the secrets and the duties that took them both on different paths away from each other.

Neverlove, was, truthfully, an unexpected byproduct of my theme for the A to Z blogging challenge in April of 2012. A blog opera that intrigued readers enough to expect more details in the novel that was going to follow, right? What? I hadn’t expected to write a novel. That didn’t change the fact that it was ready to be written. I did the one thing that is a MUST when you’re NOT expecting. I kept an open mind. Because of that, Abigail and Basil’s story now have their story told, well…mostly :).

So when you’re NOT expecting, keep an open mind because a story, opportunity, or more just may catch you unawares. It could be the best thing you didn’t expect 🙂

Have you experienced something interesting when you weren’t expecting it?

Let’s take a sneak peek at Neverlove… Oh and you can check out the book’s trailer on YouTube!

NeverloveFor seventeen-year-old Abigail, one rash decision leads to an unexpected chance for redemption. At V’Salicus Academy, a unique institute where she trains to become an agent of heaven, she struggles with the pain of her past, the changes of the present and accepts a loveless future until her path – and heart – crosses with Basil’s.

Basil’s off-chance slip of the tongue binds him to a life of servitude to the Devourer, the master of hell. His existence has no upside until a chance meeting with Abigail brings new perspective.

Keeping the truth of their present lives from each other brings disaster when secrets are brought to light and the life of Abigail’s mentor is put on the line.

Can Abigail and Basil save her mentor and salvage their love amid the chaos? Or will they lose it all, destined forever to NEVERLOVE?

If you’re into YA Fantasy/Sci-Fi, consider giving Neverlove a read – and if you’ve got kids, make sure this book makes it into their hot little hands!

You can find copies at: Amazon.com, Amazon.fr, Amazon.de, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon Print

Interested in connecting with Angela, you can follow her on Twitter, catch up with her on her blog, find her on Goodreads, and check out her Amazon Author Page!

Leave a Reply

